Gear List for Jackson Hole Backcountry Skiing

Gear List for Jackson Hole Backcountry Skiing

Remember to THINK LIGHT when you are traveling in the mountains. Even if you hire a porter, every pound counts! We can rent skis, boots, poles and sleeping bags for you. Please inquire.

Equipment

• Alpine touring skis or snowboard (split-board preferred) or telemark skis with climbing skins
• Alpine Touring, telemark or snowboard boots
• Ski poles (adjustable poles are nice but not necessary)
• Backpack –day tours 25-32L; yurt trips 35-40L)

Clothing & accessories for all tours

• Warm ski hat and baseball cap or other sun hat
• Warm ski gloves and lighter gloves for hiking
• Sunglasses and goggles
• Neck gaitor or scarf
• Synthetic/wool  long underwear top and bottom–No cotton
• Insulating layers–no cotton.  Hoodies are nice!
• Storm Jacket (Goretex, waterproof)
• Down jacket–It’s cold in Wyoming and down is warm and lightweight
• Windpants or ski pants
• Water bottle or Camelbak (with winter kit to prevent freezing)

For Overnight Hut Trips include

• Cotton shirt and sweat pants or similar for apres-ski comfort
• Clean pair of socks for each day
• Headlamp or flashlight
• Toiletries (small and light): Sunscreen, lip balm, toothbrush/paste, comb/brush, baby wipes
• Earplugs
• Camera (optional)
• Camp booties for apres ski (down booties with tread are preferable)

Unguided parties need to supply their own

• Sleeping bags
• Food and drink (we supply plenty of snow to melt for water)
• First aid kit
• Repair kit for bindings and other equipment
• Emergency kit (in case of bivouac or evac)
• Map and compass, altimeter, GPS,  Transceiver, shovel and probe

Local outdoor equipment shops:

These local shops are familiar with our operation and can help outfit you:
• Peaked Sports, Driggs – www.peakedsports.com • 208-354-2354
• Wilson Backcountry Sports, Wilson – www.wilsonbackcountry.com • 307-733-5228
• Teton Mountaineering, Jackson – www.tetonmountaineering.com • 307-733-3595
• Skinny Skis, Jackson – www.skinnyskis.com • 307-733-6094

Online outdoor equipment outlets:

• Arcteryx – www.arcteryx.com
• Ortovox – www.ortovox.com
• Patagonia – www.patagonia.com
• The North Face – www.thenorthface.com
• Garmont USA – www.garmontusa.com
• Life Link – www.life-link.com
• REI – www.rei.com
• CleanSnipe – www.cleansnipe.com
• Telemark Ski – www.telemarkski.com
• Telemark Down – www.telemarkdown.com
• Mountain Gear – www.mgear.com
• Backcountry Store – www.backcountrystore.com
• K2 Skis – www.k2skis.com